Monitoring of students with behavioral problems or learning

The school agenda is the preferred informal means of communication between the teacher and the student's parents to report occasional difficulties, both academic and behavioral.

Depending on what is required by the student's situation, contact telephone and direct meeting can also be used by the teacher with the parents of a pupil.

If difficulties persist after a student specific interventions, the teacher sends a formal notice to parents indicating the need for and nature of required patches.

If the patches have not been made or have not produced the desired results, the teacher refers the student to the management concerned with a diagnostic report detailing the events, probable causes, interventions already made and suggested courses of action.

After validating this report to other student's teachers, management meets the parents (and the student if necessary) to determine a plan of action which is then summarized in a formal opinion of the management communicated to parents and teachers concerned. This notice shall specify the measures adopted and the possible consequences of the intervention.

In the event that the school does not have the professional resources tailored to the student's situation, management directs parents to professional resources available as private suggestion. The use of these resources is the responsibility of parents, and at their expense.

An indicative list of various professional resources available to parents can be viewed or downloaded.

During the period of application of the plan, the management ensures that the parents of the pupil shall be informed at least once per month, the evolution of their child's learning.

If, at the end of the school year, the student's academic difficulties persist and do not appear in the process of solution, management determines the orientation of the student for the next school year. It may be, as appropriate, a repetition, a promotion or a conditional orientation of the student to another school best suited to their needs.

Suivi des élèves en difficulté de comportement ou d'apprentissage

L'agenda scolaire constitue le moyen informel privilégié de communication entre l'enseignant et les parents de l'élève pour signaler des difficultés ponctuelles, tant scolaires que de comportement.

Selon ce qui est requis par la situation de l'élève, le contact téléphonique et la rencontre directe peuvent aussi être utilisés par l'enseignant avec les parents d'un élève en difficulté.

Si les difficultés d'un élève persistent après des interventions ponctuelles, l'enseignant envoie un avis formel aux parents signalant la nécessité et la nature des correctifs requis.

Si les correctifs n'ont pas été apportés ou n'ont pas donné les résultats souhaités, l'enseignant réfère l'élève concerné à la direction à l'aide d'un rapport diagnostique précisant les manifestations, les causes probables, les interventions déjà faites et les pistes d'intervention suggérées.

Après avoir validé ce rapport auprès des autres enseignants de l'élève, la direction rencontre les parents (et l'élève si nécessaire) pour déterminer un plan d'intervention qui est ensuite résumé dans un avis formel de la direction communiqué aux parents et aux enseignants concernés. Cet avis précise les mesures retenues ainsi que les suites éventuelles de l'intervention.

Dans le cas où l'école ne dispose pas des ressources professionnelles adaptées à la situation de l'élève, la direction oriente les parents vers des ressources professionnelles privées disponibles à titre de suggestion. Le recours à ces ressources est la responsabilité des parents, et à leurs frais.

Une liste indicative des diverses ressources professionnelles accessibles aux parents peut être consultée ou téléchargée.

Pendant la durée de l'application du plan d'intervention, la direction s'assure que les parents de l'élève en difficulté sont informés, au moins une fois par mois, de l'évolution des apprentissages de leur enfant.

Si, à la fin de l'année scolaire, les difficultés scolaires de l'élève persistent toujours et ne semblent pas en voie de solution, la direction détermine l'orientation de l'élève pour la prochaine année scolaire. Il peut s'agir, selon les cas, d'un redoublement, d'une promotion conditionnelle ou d'une orientation de l'élève vers une autre école mieux adaptée à ses besoins.